LUX Style Awards announce Nominations for Television, Music and Fashion

Film and Music categories decline but Television and Fashion throw up strong new contenders. Pakistan’s most eagerly awaited Awards Show announced nominations in 22 Television, Music and Fashion categories for the 10th LUX Style Awards.

In a shocking move, reminiscent of 2005, the Film Jury declined to nominate a best film as nothing released in the calendar year 2010 merited a nomination and the Jury did not want to fill in the blanks just to make up the numbers. The results reflect the dire straits of the Pakistan film industry during the last year.

The television nominations, on the other hand, reflect the robustness and wide variety of work done by the entire industry. Anokha Ladla, Ghar ki Khatir, Pal Bhar Mein, Tinkay and Uss Paar were the top five Nominations in the Best TV Serial Terrestrial Category while Bol Meri Machli, Daam, Dastaan, Ijazat and Malaal were the top five serials for the Satellite Channels.

Voting for the winners of these categories and for Best Actor and Actress will be via Viewer’s Choice voting via especially set up call centers, SMS, online on the Facebook fan page and when the voting drive begins, users can log on to for details. To cast a vote via a text message voters will be asked to type LSA and send it to 5892.

LSA 2011 will go social this year. A voting Application will be developed for Facebook as well where fans and Facebook users will be able to cast their votes on the fan page. To become a fan go to

The lack of full five nominations for the Music Categories is reflective of the lack of releases during the year 2010 and the Music Jury preferred to leave blanks than recognise mediocre work. Bands and Singers released Singles rather than Albums, there were no concerts, and most of their work was overseas notably in Indian films.

The handful of singers and bands who did notable work was Kaavish, Mauj, Seige, Areib Azhar, Shallum and Zara, Symt, while Strings and Atif Aslam collaborated on Ab Khud Kuch Karna Parayga. Coke Studio and its growing impact on the music industry dominated the discussion during the Jury Session.

The Fashion Jury introduced a new category for Achievement in Fashion Design – Lawn in addition to Achievement in Fashion Design – Pret and Achievement in Fashion DesignLuxury Pret. The first time nominees for the new Lawn category were the traditional lawn players – Junaid Jamshed, Sana Safinaz, Shamaeel Ansari, Sonya Battla and Yahsir Waheed.

The photographer and make up duo of Maram Azmat and Abroo made a comeback in both categories, as did Ammar Belal in the menswear category. The high street favorites Daaman, FnkAsia, Generation, Gulabo and Khaadi were the chosen Retail nominees. Consistent showings at the PFDC Sunsilk Fashion Week benefitted Sadaf Malaterre, Kamiar Rokni, Sara Shahid at Sublime, Republic and HSY while Shakil Saigol won his first LSA nomination on the back of a strong collection shown at the FPW 2 in March 2010.

The LUX Style Awards for excellence in Performing Arts and Fashion had awarded annually and broadcast on the national and satellite channels throughout Pakistan.


Entertainment Categories
Television Categories

Best TV Serial (Terrestrial)
Anokha Ladla (PTV) Produced by: Saleem Sheikh
Ghar Ki Khatir (PTV) Produced by: Attaullah Baloch & Javed Shah
Pal Bhar Mein (ATV) Produced by: Produced by: Asif Ali Pota
Tinkay (PTV) Produced by: Tariq Mairaj
Uss Paar (ATV) Produced by: Shahzad Chaudhry

Best TV Actor (Terrestrial)
Adnan Jillani – Anokha Ladla (PTV)
Ahsan Khan – Shikan (PTV)
Babar Ali – Uss Paar (ATV)
Javed Sheikh – Pal Bhar Mein (ATV)
Saleem Sheikh – Anokha Ladla (PTV)

Best TV Actress (Terrestrial)
Beenish Chauhan – Ghar Ki Khatir (PTV)
Irum Akhtar – Shikan (PTV)
Saba Faisal – Pal Bhar Mein (ATV)
Saba Qamar – Tinkay (PTV)
Sania Saeed – Hawa Rait Aur Aangan (PTV)

Best TV Serial (Satellite)
Bol Meri Machli (GEO) Produced by: Iqbal Ansari
Daam (ARY) Produced by: Humayun Saeed & Abdullah Kadwani
Dastaan (HUM) Produced by: Momina Duraid
Ijazat (ARY) Produced by: Six Sigma & Humayun Saeed
Malaal (HUM) Produced by: Momina Duraid

Best TV Actor (Satellite)
Fahad Mustafa (ARY) – Haal-e-Dil
Faisal Qureshi (GEO) – Meri Zaat Zara Benishan
Fawad Khan (HUM) – Dastaan
Sajid Hasan (GEO) – Thori Si Wafa Chahiye
Shahood Alvi (GEO) – Bol Meri Machli

Best TV Actress (Satellite)
Aamina Sheikh (INDUS) – Agar Tum Na Hotay
Bushra Ansari (GEO) – Dolly Ki Ayegi Baraat
Samia Mumtaz (GEO) – Meri Zaat Zara Benishan
Sanam Baluch (HUM) – Dastaan
Savera Nadeem (ARY) – Diya Jalay

Best TV Director (All Channels)
Amir Yousuf – Anokha Ladla (PTV)
Haissam Husain – Daastan (HUM)
Haseeb Hassan – Bol Meri Machli (GEO)
Mehreen Jabbar – Daam (ARY)
Yasir Nawaz – Thori Si Wafah Chahiye (GEO)

Best TV Writer (All Channels)
Asghar Nadeem Syed – Bol Meri Machli (GEO)
Khalil-ur-Rehman – Mein Mar Gayi Shaukat Ali (A-Plus)
Umera Ahmed – Meri Zaat Zara Benishan (GEO)
Vasay Chaudhry & Bushra Ansari – Dolly Ki Ayegi Baraat (GEO)
Zafar Mairaj – Ghar Ki Khatir (PTV)

Music Categories

Best Artist
Kaavish – Gunkali (Fire Records)
Mauj – Technicolor (Fire Records)
Seige – Police (Fire Records)

Singer of the Year
Shallum & Zara Madni – Payaam
Strings & Atif Aslam
Symt – Zamana

Best Music Producer
Faisal Rafi – Gunkali (Fire Records)
Rohail Hyatt – Coke Studio Session (Season 3)

Best Music Video Director
Bilal Lashari – Shor Macha (E.P)
Kamran Yar Kami – Zamana (Symt)
Shahbaz Sumar – Mere Des (Arieb Azhar)

Fashion Categories

Model of the Year (Female)
Ayaan Ali
Cybil Chowdhry
Mehreen Syed
Nooray Bhatti
Rabia Butt

Model of the Year (Male)
Iffi Zafar
M. Mubarak
Rohail Peerzada

Best Emerging Talent (0-3 years)
Akif Mahmood (Designer)
Ali Xeeshan (Designer)
Amna Ilyas (Model)
Mohsin Ali (Designer)
Shamal Qureishi – Toni & Guy (Hair & Make-up)

Best Fashion Photographer
Ayaz Anis
Rizwan Baig at Deevees
Fayyaz Ahmed
Maram & Abroo
Rizwan ul Haq

Best Hair and Make up Artist
Creative Team at Nabila
Maram Azmat
Nighat Misbah at Depilex
Raana Khan
Saba Ansari at Sabs

Achievement in Fashion Design – Pret
Iman Ahmed at Body Focus
Kamiar Rokni
Khaadi Khaas
Sara Shahid at Sublime
Sonya Battla

Achievement in Fashion Design – Luxury Pret
Deepak Perwani
Rana Noman at Bareeze
Sadaf Malaterre
Shamaeel Ansari
Shehla Chatoor

Achievement in Fashion Design – Lawn
Junaid Jamshed
Sana Safinaz
Shamaeel Ansari
Sonya Battla
Yahsir Waheed

Achievement in Fashion Design – Menswear
Ammar Belal
Hassan Sheheryar Yasin
Ismail Farid
Shakil Saigol
Best Retail Brand
FNK Asia

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed


Please Contact

[email protected]